Book Now
47260 Castelmoron sur lot,
Aquitaine, France
Phone: 00 33 6 37 24 79 14
Email: liznmartyn@gmail.com
Reviews 2020-09-17T07:58:15+01:00

REVIEWS

“Just perfect!” Finding a property for a party of 14 (students and adults) isn’t easy. Manoir de Biraud Bas fitted the bill perfectly. This luxurious 17th century recently renovated property with extensive grounds ticked all the boxes. The house oozes taste and style and is immaculately clean. It’s difficult to say what we enjoyed most! Each bedroom is beautifully decorated, with a mixture of contemporary and antique furniture and comes with en-suite bathroom/ shower room which meant that there were no arguments around who took showers when and keeping them tidy! The vast ‘children’s bedroom’ with full size single/ double beds and table soccer was met with approval from the younger generation! We also appreciated the mattresses and fine bed linen (we chose not to have duvets given the heat in August), which is rare in rental accommodation. Fred was in his element in the very spacious, fully equipped kitchen, which has everything you could possibly need. There are stacks of cutlery/ glassware/ crockery.The focal point of the house, it has to be said, is the terrace bathed in sunlight from morning to evening, with its comfy lounge furniture and swimming pool area. Sipping wine watching the sun set over the rolling fields of plum orchards was a must for everyone; likewise was being able to dine outside 100% of the time even when it rained! The pool is sufficiently long to do lengths. What’s more, the temperature is maintained at a steady 28°C thanks to a heating/ cooling system, so we didn’t get that initial temperature shock even with early morning swims! Liz and Martyn did everything to make our stay pleasurable. They were very attentive to our needs, kept the garden immaculate and extremely helpful in providing information on what to see and do in the area while remaining discrete. Liz’s homemade carrot cake and local cheese platter in the welcome package went down a treat! We would definitely recommend Liz and Martyn’s beautiful Manor house to others wishing to visit the region or, for that matter, for family get-togethers/ celebrations. A huge “Thank you” to you both for making this a great holiday! Sarah, Paris, France, August 2020

“Tout simplement parfait !” Trouver une propriété pour un groupe de 14 personnes (étudiants, adultes et enfants en bas âge) n’est pas facile. Le Manoir de Biraud Bas a été au delà de nos espérances. Cette luxueuse propriété du XVIIe siècle récemment rénovée et dotée d’un vaste terrain a coché toutes les cases. La maison respire le bon goût avec beaucoup de style et est d’une propreté irréprochable. Il est difficile de dire ce que nous avons le plus apprécié ! Chaque chambre est magnifiquement décorée, avec un mélange de meubles contemporains et anciens, et est dotée d’une salle de bain/douche attenante, évitant toute dispute pour savoir qui prenait les douches et qui les gardait propres ! La vaste “chambre d’enfants” avec des lits simples et doubles et un baby-foot a reçu l’approbation de la jeune génération ! Nous avons également apprécié la grande qualité de la literie (matelas hyper confortables et linge de lit très agréable), ce qui est assez rare dans les logements de location. Fred, dont le plus grand plaisir (et le nôtre d’ailleurs) est de nous préparer de bons petits plats pendant les vacances, était aux anges dans la cuisine très spacieuse et entièrement équipée, qui a tout ce dont vous pourriez avoir besoin. De plus, la vaisselle ne manque pas. Mais le point central de la maison, est bien la terrasse, baignée de soleil du matin au soir, avec ses meubles de salon confortables et son espace piscine. Siroter un verre de vin en regardant le soleil se coucher sur les champs vallonnés des vergers de pruniers était un must pour tout le monde ; de même, pouvoir dîner dehors 100% du temps même si une giboulée vient rafraichir l’atmosphère, est très appréciable !  La piscine est suffisamment longue pour faire des longueurs, et donc parfaite pour jouer ou nager selon son gré. De plus, la température est maintenue à 28°C grâce à un système de chauffage/refroidissement, ce qui rend très agréable la baignade à toute heure du matin comme du soir. Liz et Martyn ont tout fait pour rendre notre séjour agréable. Ils ont été très attentifs à nos besoins, ont gardé le jardin immaculé et ont été extrêmement utiles en nous donnant des informations sur ce qu’il y avait à voir et à faire dans la région tout en restant discrets. Le gâteau aux carottes fait maison de Liz et le plateau de fromage local dans le paquet de bienvenue ont été un régal! Nous recommandons vivement le magnifique manoir de Liz et Martyn à tous ceux qui souhaitent visiter la région ou, d’ailleurs, pour des réunions ou des célébrations familiales. Un grand “merci” à vous deux pour avoir fait de ces vacances une vraie réussite ! Posté par Sarah et Gilles, à Paris le 2/09/2020

“We were thrilled with this booking!” It was a beautiful Manoir, impeccably restored with the decor and all fittings luxurious and very tasteful, the kitchen fully equipped with everything one would need. The physical environment was breath-taking and the back verandah area a highlight especially those plum trees! We used the pool and enjoyed the property taking many long walks eating many fruits in a private and stunning area we also saw wildlife. The hosts Martin and Liz were very warm welcoming and generous people. We arrived late on a Monday night and Liz had baked a cake and had stocked up the fridge with a charcuterie board and had wine for us! They were very helpful very pleasant people and also discreet and left us to our own devices. They offered great referrals to areas that we could visit and a local restaurant on the river. The village was fantastic and we really enjoyed walking through a number of times and using the local shops. Peter, Australia, September 2019

“We spent eight absolutely fantastic days at the Manoir de Cedres in the Aquitaine Region and cannot recommend it strongly enough.” The hosts Martyn and Liz are extraordinary and wonderful people who ensures our stay was memorable- and it was! The Manoir is 5 star all the way so luxurious and full of character and the property majestic with wildlife, fruit trees and a view to die for. It’s a beautiful area and so much to do! We will certainly go back! Violet, Australia, September 2019

“A truly wonderful week” Martyn and Liz have thought of everything to make your holiday a relaxing break. Every comfort is there – from the quality bedding to the welcome pack with Liz’s homemade jam and cake. We can’t wait to go back next year. Alison G September 2019

“Already looking forward to our next stay” Just spent two weeks in the Biraud Bas Gite and the short review is that we enjoyed it so much we have already booked for next year! The longer, more informative review is that the Gite is very comfortable and well-equipped and looks just as it does in the photographs. It is a peaceful place with an amazing view from the terrace – we spotted the occasional deer, a hare, buzzards and, my personal favourites, eagles. I thought I spotted an elusive wild boar early one morning but couldn’t be sure….The property is very close to a pretty village with a couple of cafes plus shops for provisions and there is a selection of large supermarkets within close driving distance. We sampled a few of the decent restaurants in the area as well as enjoying some of the evening food markets in other villages. Liz and Martyn are generous and thoughtful hosts, with nothing being too much trouble for them – their information folder was quite the best we have come across.
We were fortunate to be able to have a tour of the Manoir during the changeover day. Much bigger property and also very well appointed – there were two multi-generational family groups in residence for both of the weeks we were there and I can certainly see the attraction for large groups to rent both the Manoir and the Gite for large gatherings.
Can I recommend it – absolutely…….. and we’re already looking forward to our next stay. Sandra B, August 2019

“Definitely recommend for a holiday or celebration” We had a fantastic family holiday at Manoir De Biraud Bas. The Manoir is excellent, it is comfortable, spacious, full of character and charm. It was spotlessly clean and well equipped. The pool and terraces area are wonderful with lovely views. The owners Liz and Martyn were helpful and friendly without being intrusive. They helped with restaurant and taxi bookings, we had a great night out with them at one of the night markets. It is well placed for visiting many of the beautiful bastide towns in the area. It is within walking distance of the local town and the River Lot where you can go canoeing and paddle boarding, it also has a small cafe by the river beach. We would definitely recommend the Manoir for a holiday or celebration. John, Karen and family July 2019

“All round 5 Star stunning place to stay” We stayed in the Manoir and Gite for a week in June 2019 as a group of 16 adults, a 3-yr old, and dog, to celebrate my 60th Birthday. The attention to detail and luxury accommodation in both properties was stunning. Fabulous Welcome Packs, fully stocked kitchens, gorgeous en-suite bathrooms (in the Manoir) and the most comfortable bed I have every slept in. We used the Manoir as our socialising and entertaining property. Happily catering for and seating the whole group every evening. The location is gorgeous, a short walk through orchards to the local village for croissants, lunch at the Solar Café, water sports and local music festivals in the square. There is so much to do in the area, from day trips to the beautiful towns of Agen, afternoons at La Ferme du Chaudron Magique (playing with the goats), and visiting Latour-Marliac (stunningly beautiful waterlilies and a wonderful place to have lunch). A very special mention has to be made of the lovely hosts, Martyn and Liz (and their gorgeous dog, Burtie). They arranged my 60th birthday party, providing a 4-course meal and beverages, and sourced the birthday cake (a tower of 60 profiteroles) and arranged a fabulous band, Caber Country who had us dancing on the lawns until midnight. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they really made the week very special. Thank you both so much and we will definitely recommend to all our friends and look forward to returning. Carole N, London, 4th July 2019

“Beautiful, Peaceful, Elegant and Relaxing” Manoir de Biraud Bas is a beautiful property, with charm in abundance. The house has all the character and size of an old manor with all the comforts and luxuries of a modern property. It is located in the middle of rolling hills and orchards, where you are able to walk freely and a lit up pool that is well-kept and wonderfully refreshing to jump into on a warm day. The rooms have lots of character, particularly the master bedroom which originates from 1666 but has been refurbished with all the modern luxuries. The kitchen and living room are enormous and also well equipped (we were a group of 13 and never ran out of cutlery!) The owners, Liz and Martyn, were incredibly organised in the lead up to our trip, very quick to respond, and gave us a warm welcome upon arrival. They provided us with advice on local bakeries in the area, where to go for walks and the best wines in the region. They made it feel like it was our home for our (too) short stay there and genuinely made it a really lovely place to stay. I highly recommend this beautiful property and hope I can return there again soon. Megan D on 24/05/2019

“Truly special, peaceful, with great views” We spent 2 fabulous weeks at Biraud Bas. The location is truly special, peaceful, with great views but close to the village’s amenities and the river’s activities!
Liz & Martyn are very generous hosts, from the welcome pack, quality kitchen items, nice French wines and top-end bed linen. They could not be more helpful but also very discrete. The Cottage is charming, the surroundings beautiful and the hosts are such nice people. I can’t recommend enough to anyone booking for a holiday in French Countryside. Forget Dordogne, and come to the Lot et Garonne! It’s the new place to be! Encore 1000 fois mercis! Paul, Virginia, Pierre & Betty (the dog) August 2018

“Lovely visit in July 2018” We had a lovely visit in July 2018, helped by excellent weather. The owners are a lovely couple recently moved to France from the Channel Islands. They live on the property (quite separate so no privacy issues!) and are truly friendly, kind and helpful, doing all they could to ensure we had a good holiday. The property is very well equipped and spacious but extra touches such as a welcome pack of local produce and a folder of local information and recommendations were signs that they are keen to go the extra distance to help keep visitors happy. There is a delightful walk through plum and kiwi orchards to the local village, which has 2 excellent bakeries (we did a croissant run every morning!), a well stocked village store and some banks with cash points. There is one very traditional French cafe with delicious food for lunch but outings for evening meals required a car journey. With a pretty garden, secluded barbecue deck, sparkling pool and gorgeous views of the valley with its orchards and sunflower fields, we didn’t feel the need to venture away too often, but we did enjoy some day trips to castles, Bastide villages and other sections of the river Lot. We also loved the local village markets, and we especially enjoyed the evening markets for al fresco dining at La Parade and overlooking the river at Fongrave.  Iain & Fiona McF, Cheshire,  July 2019

“A Peaceful & Relaxed Stay”  This lovely accommodation has recently changed hands and we were the very first guests. The converted barn at Biraud Bas is very spacious and private with a lovely outside pool and a great view onto the plum trees and the surrounding landscape.

The room we stayed in had a very comfortable bed with nice quality linen. The kitchen is well equipped and has an extra fridge stocked with drinks for the guests. The welcome basket and the few essentials to start with (milk, water, butter, marmalade..) were also a very nice touch.

The new owners Liz and Martin are marvellous hosts who made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. We enjoyed their table ‘Hôtes in a most relaxing atmosphere and were amazed at the generous size of the plates and the drinks. Liz and Martin were always on hand to help or advise without intruding in any way on our privacy. This property has everything you need. Would highly recommend! Inge D, Kempen, Germany, April 2018

 “Beautiful Accommodation with Splendid Views”  March 2018  Shaun L, Guernsey The location of Manoir Biraud Bas is superb, being close to the village of Castlemoron-sur-Lot but with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. One can often see the local wildlife such as deer and falcons in the vicinity. The Gite accommodation is finished to a very high standard with ample accommodation for a family with children, with its own separate swimming pool and garden/patio area. Great for privacy. The living area and kitchen are very well appointed with all modern appliances plus a wood burning stove. There are lots of small villages and historical towns to visit in the area or if you just want to laze by the pool the owners will be sure to look after very well.

“Beautiful 3 bedroom gite on the edge of a village.  Absolutely stunning views.”  June 2018  Mark & Nicky B The hosts Martyn and Liz were amazing, nothing was too much trouble, but then everything you need was there.  They offer a Table D’Hote service which we sampled one evening, delicious, restaurant quality, would definitely recommend.  We had a fantastic holiday which was made easy for us by the stunning setting and the great hosts.  Will definitely be back.

Just perfect!

Finding a property for a party of 14 (students and adults) isn’t easy. Manoir de Biraud Bas fitted the bill perfectly. This luxurious 17th century recently renovated property with extensive grounds ticked all the boxes. The house oozes taste and style and is immaculately clean.

It’s difficult to say what we enjoyed most! Each bedroom is beautifully decorated, with a mixture of contemporary and antique furniture and comes with en-suite bathroom/ shower room which meant that there were no arguments around who took showers when and keeping them tidy! The vast ‘children’s bedroom’ with full size single/ double beds and table soccer was met with approval from the younger generation! We also appreciated the mattresses and fine bed linen (we chose not to have duvets given the heat in August), which is rare in rental accommodation.

Fred was in his element in the very spacious, fully equipped kitchen, which has everything you could possibly need. There are stacks of cutlery/ glassware/ crockery.

The focal point of the house, it has to be said, is the terrace bathed in sunlight from morning to evening, with its comfy lounge furniture and swimming pool area. Sipping wine watching the sun set over the rolling fields of plum orchards was a must for everyone; likewise was being able to dine outside 100% of the time even when it rained! The pool is sufficiently long to do lengths. What’s more, the temperature is maintained at a steady 28°C thanks to a heating/ cooling system, so we didn’t get that initial temperature shock even with early morning swims!

Liz and Martyn did everything to make our stay pleasurable. They were very attentive to our needs, kept the garden immaculate and extremely helpful in providing information on what to see and do in the area while remaining discrete. Liz’s homemade carrot cake and local cheese platter in the welcome package went down a treat!

We would definitely recommend Liz and Martyn’s beautiful Manor house to others wishing to visit the region or, for that matter, for family get-togethers/ celebrations.

A huge “Thank you” to you both for making this a great holiday!

Posted by Sarah, Paris 2/09/2020

en_GB
fr_FR en_GB